9th Man Nation

AFL Announces 2017 All-Arena First and Second Teams

Courtesy: Cleveland Gladiators Media

LAS VEGAS – The Arena Football League has announced the 2017 All-Arena First and Second Teams. Of the 36 players named, 18 earn their way on to a 2017 All-Arena Team for the first-time in their career.

Headlining the First-Team All-Arena is Tampa Bay Storm quarterback Randy Hippeard who was named to an All-Arena team for the first-time in his career as he led the league in total offense (3,626 yards), passing touchdowns (82) and passing yards (3,506). Teammates Joe Hills and Kendrick Ings join Hippeard as the pair of Storm players were among the league leaders in receiving categories; Hills led the AFL with 1,353 receiving yards and 36 receiving touchdowns while Ings finished second with 98 receptions and third with 1,141 receiving yards. Ings was also named to the First-Team All-Arena for his special teams play as he led the AFL 1,063 kickoff return yards and four touchdowns by kick return.

The Philadelphia Soul are well represented on the First-Team All-Arena list with a league-high nine players; fullback Mykel Benson (2nd straight First-Team honoree, 3rd overall), wide receiver Darius Reynolds (2nd career All-Arena Team), offensive lineman Wayne Tribue, defensive lineman Sean Daniels and Justin Lawrence, linebacker Beau Bell (2nd career First-Team honoree), defensive backs Dwayne Hollis and James Romain and kicker Adrian Trevino.

Representing the two expansion teams on the First-Team All-Arena roster are offensive lineman Anthony Parker and defensive back Tracy Belton (2nd straight First-Team All-Arena) of the Washington Valor and defensive end Khreem Smith (2nd career First-Team All-Arena) from the Baltimore Brigade who finished third in the league with 9.0 sacks

QB Randy Hippeard – Tampa Bay QB Dan Raudabaugh – Philadelphia
FB Mykel Benson – Philadelphia FB Jeramie Richardson – Cleveland
WR Joe Hills – Tampa Bay WR Quentin Sims – Cleveland
WR Darius Reynolds – Philadelphia WR Shaun Kauleinamoku – Philadelphia
WR Kendrick Ings – Tampa Bay WR Michael Preston – Cleveland
C Raymond McNeil – Tampa Bay C Kody Afusia – Baltimore
OL Wayne Tribue – Philadelphia OL Dionte Savage – Washington
OL Anthony Parker – Washington OL Aslam Sterling – Cleveland
DE Khreem Smith – Baltimore DE Nick Seither – Cleveland
DE Sean Daniels – Philadelphia DE Robert Hayes – Baltimore
DT Justin Lawrence – Philadelphia DT Willie McGinnis – Cleveland
MLB Beau Bell – Philadelphia MLB Derrick Summers – Cleveland
JLB Alvin Ray Jackson – Tampa Bay JLB Joe Goosby – Philadelphia
DB Tracy Belton – Washington DB Fredrick Obi – Cleveland
DB Dwayne Hollis – Philadelphia DB Varmah Sonie – Baltimore
DB James Romain – Philadelphia DB Josh Victorian – Baltimore
K Adrian Trevino – Philadelphia K Pat Clarke – Baltimore
ST Kendrick Ings – Tampa Bay ST Brandon Thompkins – Baltimore

Saturday, August 26 at 4:00pm PDT – Wells Fargo Center (Philadelphia, Pa.)
#2 Tampa Bay Storm (10-4; 1-0) at #1 Philadelphia Soul (13-1; 1-0)
AFLNow, Twitter and 6abc (Philadelphia Only)

The Arena Football League is now in its 30th Anniversary Season in 2017. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. Teams slated for 2017 include: Baltimore, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Tampa Bay and Washington D.C. CBS Sports Network nationally broadcasts AFL games each week during the regular season. ArenaBowl XXX is slated for Saturday, August 26. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on social media via Facebook (http://Facebook.com/aflarenaball), Twitter (http://twitter.com/aflarenaball) and Instagram (http://instagram.com/afl_arenaball).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login